

August 11, 2024 – Pentecost 12 (B) Presiding Bishop-elect Rowe's Investiture Service

As announced at the close of the 81st General Convention, the investiture of Presiding Bishop-elect Sean Rowe will be a simpler, scaled-down event this fall with a view toward reducing carbon footprint and increasing virtual engagement and participation.

The investiture service will take place on Nov. 2 at the Chapel of Christ the Lord in The Episcopal Church Center in New York City with a prelude beginning at 10 a.m. ET and the service starting at 11 a.m. ET. There will be an extensive livestream production to support churchwide access and participation.

All are welcome and encouraged to attend virtually—and dioceses should begin thinking about organizing watch parties. The Episcopal Church Office of Communication will be supporting those efforts with customizable invitations and other assets, with more information available in the coming months.

The Rt. Rev. Deon Johnson, bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Missouri and chair of the planning committee, said: "I am delighted to work with Presiding Bishop-elect Rowe and the committee in planning this historic installation. Having planned and experienced a scaled-down consecration myself during COVID, I am very familiar with the challenges and opportunities this presents.

"As a planning committee, we are committed to centering the rich diversity of our church and providing increased opportunities for virtual engagement to our community and beyond."

The official roster for the planning committee is below, as well as others providing consultation and support:

Timothy Gee, Episcopal Diocese of El Camino Real The Rev. Charles Graves, Episcopal Diocese of Texas The Rev. Molly James, General Convention Office, Episcopal Church in Connecticut The Rt. Rev. Deon Johnson, chair, Episcopal Diocese of Missouri

Canon Andrea McKellar, Episcopal Diocese of South Carolina

The Rev. Greg Millikin, Episcopal Diocese of Chicago The Rev. Consuelo Sanchez, Episcopal Diocese of Honduras

The Rt. Rev. E. Mark Stevenson, Episcopal Diocese of Virginia

Presiding Bishop's Staff

Ednice Baerga
Darvin Darling
Sharon Jones
The Rev. Canon C.K. Robertson
Bill Savarese
Jeremy Tackett

Liturgy and Music Consultants

Dent Davidson
The Rev. Canon Rose Duncan
The Rev. Lester McKenzie

Those with questions are encouraged to email info@episcopalchurch.org.