

The Church IN THE PROVINCE OF THE WEST INDIES

Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to The Anglican Church in the Province of the West Indies. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

Important Information

Short History

The West Indies became a self-governing Province of the worldwide Anglican Communion in 1883 because of the Church of England missions in territories that became British colonies. It is made up of two mainland dioceses and six island dioceses, including Barbados, Belize, Guyana, Jamaica, Nassau and the Bahamas, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Windward Islands. Great emphasis is being placed on training personnel for an indigenous ministry. The island locations and scattered settlements make pastoral care difficult and costly.

Primate(s)

The Most Rev Howard Gregory

Website: cpwianglicans.org/site

Facts

Countries

Barbados, Belize, The Bahamas, The United Kingdom, Guyana, Jamaica, Aruba, Trinidad and Tobago

Number of Dioceses - 8

Barbados, Belize, The Bahamas and The Turks and Caicos Islands, Guyana, Jamaica & The Cayman Islands, North Eastern Caribbean & Aruba, Trinidad & Tobago, Windward Islands

Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.

