

The Church OF THE PROVINCE OF WEST AFRICA

Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to The Church of the Province of West Africa. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

Important Information

Short History

The Church of the Province of West Africa divided to form the Province of Nigeria and the Province of West Africa in 1979. The Church exists in an atmosphere of civil strife and Christians remain in a minority.

Primate(s)

The Most Rev. Jonathan Hart

Facts

Countries

Sierra Leone, Liberia, Gambia, Ghana, and Guinea

Number of Dioceses - 17

Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.

