

# The Church OF THE PROVINCE OF UGANDA

#### Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to The Church of the Province of Uganda. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

## Important Information

### **Short History**

After its founding in 1877 by the Church Missionary Society, the Church grew through the evangelization of Africans by Africans. The first Ugandan clergy were ordained in 1893 and the Church of Uganda, Rwanda, and Burundi became an independent Province in 1961. The history of the Church in Uganda has been marked by civil strife and martyrdom. In May 1980 the new Province of Burundi, Rwanda, and Zaire was inaugurated; the Province of Uganda has grown since then from seventeen to thirty-seven dioceses.

# Primate(s)

The Rt. Rev. Dr. Stephen Samuel Kaziimba

Website: churchofuganda.org

#### **Facts**

#### Countries

Uganda

Number of Dioceses - 37

# Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.



**UGANDA** 

episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships

For more information about Global Partnerships contact: Jenny Grant, Officer for Global Relations and Networking at jgrant@episcopalchurch.org