

# The Anglican Church OF TANZANIA

#### Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to the Anglican Church of Tanzania. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

## Important Information

## **Short History**

The Universities Mission to Central Africa and the Church Missionary Society began work in 1864 and 1878 at Mpwapwa. The Province was inaugurated in 1970 following the division of the Province of East Africa into the Province of Kenya and the Province of Tanzania. The twenty-eight dioceses represent both evangelical and Anglo-Catholic Churches.

## Primate(s)

The Most Rev. Dr. Maimbo Mndolwa

Website: anglican.or.tz

## **Facts**

#### Countries

Tanzania

Number of Dioceses - 28

## Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.

