

# The Anglican Church OF SOUTHERN AFRICA

#### Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to the Anglican Church of Southern Africa. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

# Important Information

### **Short History**

The Province is the oldest in Africa. British Anglicans met for worship in Cape Town after 1806, with the first Bishop appointed in 1847. The twenty-three dioceses of the Province extend beyond the Republic of South Africa and include the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (St. Helena and Tristan da Cunha), Mozambique (Lebombo and Niassa), the Republic of Namibia, the Kingdom of Lesotho, the Kingdom of Swaziland and Angola.

# Primate(s)

The Most Rev. Dr. Thabo Makgoba

## Website: anglicanchurchsa.org

#### **Facts**

#### Countries

The Republic of South Africa and includes the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (St. Helena and Tristan da Cunha), Mozambique (Lebombo and Niassa), the Republic of Namibia, the Kingdom of Lesotho, the Kingdom of Swaziland and Angola

#### Number of Dioceses - 28

## Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.

