

# The Episcopal Church OF SOUTH SUDAN

#### Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to The Episcopal Church of South Sudan. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

## Important Information

#### **Short History**

The Church Missionary Society began work in 1899 in Omdurman; Christianity spread rapidly among black Africans of the Southern region. Until 1974, the Diocese of Sudan was part of the Jerusalem archbishopric. It reverted to the jurisdiction of the Archbishop of Canterbury until the new Province, consisting of four new dioceses, was established in 1976. Civil and religious strife and a constant flow of refugees have challenged the Church.

# Primate(s)

The Most Rev. Justin Badi Arama

Website: sudan.anglican.org

### **Facts**

#### Countries

South Sudan

Number of Dioceses - 58

## Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.



South Sudan

episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships

For more information about Global Partnerships contact: Jenny Grant, Officer for Global Relations and Networking at jgrant@episcopalchurch.org