

# The Church OF SOUTH INDIA (UNITED)

#### Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to The Church of South India (United). More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

## Important Information

## **Short History**

The Church was inaugurated in 1947 by the union of the South India United Church (itself a union of Congregational and Presbyterian/Reformed traditions), the southern Anglican diocese of the Church of India, Burma, Ceylon, and the Methodist Church in South India. It is one of the four United Churches in the Anglican Communion.

## Primate(s)

The Most Rev. Thomas Kanjirappally Oommen

Website: csisynod.com

### **Facts**

#### Countries

India

#### Number of Dioceses - 24

## Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.

