GLOBAL PARTNERSHIPS

тне *Episcopal* сниксн 👽

The Church OF THE PROVINCE OF SOUTH EAST ASIA

Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to The Church of the Province of South East Asia. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

Important Information

Short History

The Anglican Church in South East Asia was originally under the jurisdiction of the Bishop of Calcutta, India. The first chaplaincy was formed in West Malaysia in 1805; the first bishop was consecrated in 1855. The Diocese of Labuan, Sarawak, and Singapore was formed in 1881, dividing in 1909, 1962, and 1970. Until the inauguration of the Church of the Province of South East Asia, the four dioceses (Kuching, Sabah, Singapore, and West Malaysia) were under the jurisdiction of the Archbishop of Canterbury. Although the Province exists under the restrictions of a Muslim government, the Church has experienced spiritual renewal and has sent out its own mission partners to various parts of the world.

Primate(s)

The Most Rev. Datuk Melter J. Tais

Facts

Countries Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore

Number of Dioceses - 4

Kuching, Sabah, Singapore, West Malaysia

Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.



episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships

For more information about Global Partnerships contact: Jenny Grant, Officer for Global Relations and Networking at jgrant@episcopalchurch.org