

Iglesia Anglicana DEL CONO SUR DE AMERICA

Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to the Iglesia Anglicana del Cono Sur de America or The Anglican Church of South America. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

Important Information

Short History

British immigrants brought Anglicanism to South America during the nineteenth century. The South American Missionary Society continues to work among indigenous peoples. In 1974, the Archbishop of Canterbury gave over his metropolitical authority for the dioceses of the Southern Cone and, in 1981, the new Province was formed. It includes Argentina, Bolivia, Paraguay, Peru, and Uruguay.

Primate(s)

The Most Rev. Gregory James Venables

Facts

Countries

Argentina, Bolivia, Paraguay, Peru, and Uruguay

Number of Dioceses - 6

Argentina, Northern Argentina, Bolivia, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay

Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.

