GLOBAL PARTNERSHIPS

тне *Episcopal* сниксн 👽

THE SCOTTISH Episcopal Church

Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to The Anglican Church in Scotland. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

Important Information

Short History

The roots of Scottish Christianity go back to St. Ninian in the fourth century and St Columba in the sixth. After the Reformation, the Episcopal Church was the established Church of Scotland. It was disestablished and replaced by the Presbyterian Church in 1689. Penal statutes in force from 1746 to 1792 further weakened the Church, yet Bishops maintained continuity. In 1794 in Aberdeen, the Scottish Church consecrated the first Bishop of the American Church. There was rapid growth in the nineteenth century influenced by the Tractarian Movement.

Primate(s)

The Most Rev. Mark Strange

Website: scotland.anglican.org

Facts

Countries

The United Kingdom

Number of Dioceses - 7

Aberdeen & Orkney, Argyll & The Isles, Brechin, Edinburgh, Glasgow & Galloway, Moray, Ross & Caithness, St. Andrews Dunkeld & Dunblane

Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.



THE UNITED KINGDOM

episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships

For more information about Global Partnerships contact: Jenny Grant, Officer for Global Relations and Networking at jgrant@episcopalchurch.org