

Eglise Anglicane DU RWANDA

Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to Eglise Anglicane du Rwanda. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

Important Information

Short History

In just over 26,340 square Kilometres are over 1 million Anglicans, out of a quickly growing population of 8.7 million. The former Rwanda Mission established its first station at Gahini in 1925 and grew through the revival of the 1930s and 1940s, with the first Rwandan Bishop appointed in 1965. Eight dioceses have up to 40 parishes, which in turn comprise 15-20 congregations. Like all strata of Rwandan society, the Church suffered through the genocide, and it is a major priority of the church to replace clergy through training.

Primate(s)

The Most Rev. Laurent Mbanda

Website: ear-acr.org

Facts

Countries

Rwanda

Number of Dioceses - 11

Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.



RWANDA

episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships

For more information about Global Partnerships contact: Jenny Grant, Officer for Global Relations and Networking at jgrant@episcopalchurch.org