

The Church OF THE PROVINCE OF THE INDIAN OCEAN

Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to The Church of the Province of the Indian Ocean. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

Important Information

Short History

The Province, covering Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles, was founded in 1973, combining two bishoprics. The Anglican mission began in Mauritius in 1810, after the capture of the island from the French. Missionaries were then sent to the other islands.

Primate(s)

The Most Rev. James Richard Wong Yin Song

Facts

Countries

Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles

Number of Dioceses - 8

Antananarivo, Antsiranana, Fianarantsoa, Mahajanga, Mauritius, Seychelles, Toamasina, Toliara

Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.

