# GLOBAL PARTNERSHIPS

## THE Episcopal church $\clubsuit$

## The Episcopal Church IN THE PHILIPPINES

### Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to The Episcopal Church in the Philippines. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

## Important Information

#### Short History

With its history as a Spanish colony, the Philippines was predominantly Roman Catholic. When Americans colonized the country in 1898, Anglican missionary work began in the north and among Muslim populations in the south. Four dioceses were established by 1971. The Church consecrated its first Bishop in 1963 and became an autonomous Province in 1990.

## Primate(s)

The Most Rev. Joel Atiwag Pachao

Website: episcopalchurchphilippines.com

#### Facts

#### Countries

The Philippines

#### Number of Dioceses - 7

Central Philippines, Davao, North Central Philippines, Northern Luzon, Northern Philippines, Santiago, Southern Philippines

### Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.



episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships

For more information about Global Partnerships contact: Jenny Grant, Officer for Global Relations and Networking at jgrant@episcopalchurch.org