



The Anglican Church OF PAPUA NEW GUINEA

Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to The Anglican Church of Papua New Guinea. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

Important Information

Short History

Papua New Guinea occupies the eastern half of the island of New Guinea off the north east corner of Australia. It is a land of high mountain ranges and tropical rain forests, with comparatively few roads. Most of the people (around 85%) live in rural areas, relying on subsistence farming, and can only be reached by walking from the nearest road or airstrip. Over 800 languages are spoken.

Primate(s)

The Most Rev. Allan Migi

Facts

Countries

Papua New Guinea

Number of Dioceses - 5

Aipo Rongo, Dogura, The New Guinea Islands, Popondota, Port Moresby

Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.

