

# The Church OF PAKISTAN

### Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to The Church of Pakistan. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

## Important Information

## **Short History**

The Church of Pakistan is the result of the union of four denominations: Anglican, Methodist, Lutheran and Presbyterian (Scottish), which took place in 1970. The United Presbyterian Church which had been involved in the negotiations did not join. Initially there were four dioceses in the Church of Pakistan, i.e. Karachi, Multan, Lahore and Sialkot, but in 1980, through a special resolution and for better ministerial work, four new dioceses were created: Hyderabad, Raiwind, Faisalabad and Peshawar. There are eight active diocesan bishops with an additional bishop for the Gulf Ministries. This appointment was made to take care of the pastoral and worship needs of Urdu-speaking workers in the Gulf. There is a presiding bishop for the Church of Pakistan who is known as the moderator and has responsibility for a three-year term. The United Church of Pakistan is the second largest church in the country after the Roman Catholic Church.

## Primate(s)

The Most Rev. Humphrey Peters

#### **Facts**

#### Countries

Pakistan

### Number of Dioceses - 8

Faisalabad, Hyderabad, Karachi, Lahore, Multan, Peshawar, Raiwind, Sialkot

## Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.

