

La Iglesia Anglicana DE MEXICO

Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to La Iglesia Anglicana de Mexico or The Anglican Church in Mexico. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

Important Information

Short History

The Mexican Episcopal Church symbolically began with Mexico's war for independence in 1810. Religious reform in 1857 secured freedom of religion, separating the Roman Catholic Church from government and politics. In 1860, the newly formed Church of Jesus contacted the Episcopal Church in the United States, seeking leadership, guidance, and support. In 1958, the fourth missionary Bishop of Mexico was the first of the Church's Bishops to be consecrated on Mexican soil. The Church became an autonomous Province of the Anglican Communion in 1995.

Primate(s)

The Most Rev. Francisco Moreno

Website: mexico-anglican.org

Facts

Countries

Mexico

Number of Dioceses - 5

Cuernavaca, Mexico, Northern Mexico, Southeastern Mexico, Western Mexico

Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.

