

# The Church OF THE PROVINCE OF MELANESIA

#### Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to The Church of the Province of Melanesia. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

## Important Information

### **Short History**

After 118 years of missionary association with the Church of the Province of New Zealand, the Church of the Province of Melanesia was formed in 1975. The Province encompasses the Republic of Vanuatu, Solomon Islands, and the French Trust Territory of New Caledonia, both sovereign island nations in the South Pacific.

# Primate(s)

The Most Rev. Leonard Dawea

## Website: melanesia.anglican.org

#### **Facts**

#### Countries

The Republic of Vanuatu, The Solomon Islands, and The French Trust Territory of New Caledonia.

#### Number of Dioceses - 9

Banks & Torres, Central Melanesia, Central Solomons, Guadalcanal, Hanuato'o, Malaita, Temotu, Vanuatu, Ysabel

# Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.

