

The Anglican Church OF KOREA

Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to The Anglican Church of Korea. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

Important Information

Short History

From the time the Right Reverend John C Corfe arrived in Korea in 1890 until 1965, the Diocese of Korea had English Bishops. In 1993 the Archbishop of Canterbury installed the newly elected Primate and handed jurisdiction to him, making the Anglican Church of Korea a Province of the Anglican Communion. There are four religious communities in the country as well as an Anglican University.

Primate(s)

The Most Rev. Moses Nagjun Yoo

Website: skh.or.kr

Facts

Countries

Korea

Number of Dioceses - 3

Busan, Daejeon, Seoul

Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships..



episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships

For more information about Global Partnerships contact: Jenny Grant, Officer for Global Relations and Networking at jgrant@episcopalchurch.org