

The Anglican Church OF KENYA

Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to the Anglican Church of Kenya. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

Important Information

Short History

Mombasa saw the arrival of Anglican missionaries in 1844, with the first Africans ordained to the priesthood in 1885. Mass conversions occurred as early as 1910. The first Kenyan Bishops were consecrated in 1955. The Church became part of the Province of East Africa, established in 1960, but by 1970 Kenya and Tanzania were divided into separate Provinces.

Primate(s)

The Most Rev. Jackson Ole Sapit

Website: ackenya.org

Facts

Countries

Kenya

Number of Dioceses - 36

Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.



episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships

For more information about Global Partnerships contact: Jenny Grant, Officer for Global Relations and Networking at jgrant@episcopalchurch.org