

The Episcopal Church IN JERUSALEM & THE MIDDLE EAST

Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to The Episcopal Church in Jerusalem and The Middle East. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

Important Information Short History

The Province includes four dioceses: Cyprus and the Gulf, Jerusalem and the Middle East, Egypt with North Africa and the Horn of Africa, and the Diocese of Iran. The Jerusalem bishopric was founded in 1841 and became an archbishopric in 1957. Reorganization with the support of the Archbishop of Canterbury on the Feast of the Epiphany in 1976 created the Province of Jerusalem and the Middle East as we understand it today.

Terminology can be somewhat confusing. It is worth noting that the use of the words "Episcopal Church" in the title of this independent province of the Anglican Communion refers to the use of bishops for oversight of the various dioceses throughout the Anglican Communion. This is not a reference to being part of The Episcopal Church, as in The Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society with offices in New York City.

In addition, having one of the four dioceses of the Province with significant overlap in its name, as in the Diocese of Jerusalem and the Middle East, is also challenging. The full scope of the ministry of the province includes four dioceses which span an area from North Africa to Iran and from Cyprus to the Gulf of Persia.

The Episcopal Church continues to be a valued partner in ministry throughout the province. Advocacy, awareness, and financial support are provided through the active engagement of Episcopalians in the Good Friday Offering, the United Thank Offering, and Episcopal Relief and Development.

Primate(s)

The Most Rev. Michael Lewis

Facts

Countries

Algeria, Bahrain, Cyprus, Djibouti, Dubai, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Oman, Qatar, Somalia, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Number of Dioceses - 4

Cyprus and the Gulf, Egypt with North Africa and the Horn of Africa, Iran, Jerusalem

Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.



ALGERIA, BAHRAIN, CYPRUS, DJIBOUTI, DUBAI, EGYPT, ERITREA, ETHIOPIA, IRAQ, IRAN, ISRAEL, JORDAN, KUWAIT, LEBANON, LIBYA, OMAN, QATAR, SOMALIA, SYRIA, TUNISIA, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES, AND YEMEN

episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships

For more information about Global Partnerships contact: Jenny Grant, Officer for Global Relations and Networking at jgrant@episcopalchurch.org