

# The Church OF IRELAND

## Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to the Anglican Church in Ireland and the United Kingdom. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

## Important Information

## **Short History**

Tracing its origins to St. Patrick and his companions in the fifth century, the Irish Church has been marked by strong missionary efforts. In 1537, the English king was declared head of the Church, but most Irish Christians maintained loyalty to Rome. The Irish Church Act of 1869 provided that the statutory union between the Churches of England and Ireland be dissolved and that the Church of Ireland should cease to be established by law. A General Synod of the Church, established in 1890 and consisting of Archbishops, Bishops, and representatives of the clergy and laity, has legislative and administrative power.

## Primate(s)

The Most Reverend Richard Lionel Clarke

Website: ireland.anglican.org

### **Facts**

#### Countries

Ireland and the United Kingdom

### Number of Dioceses - 12

## Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.

