

The Church OF THE PROVINCE OF CENTRAL AFRICA

Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to The Church of the Province of Central Africa. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

Important Information

Short History

The Province includes Botswana, Malawi, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. The first Anglican missionary to Malawi was Bishop Charles Mackenzie, who arrived with David Livingstone in 1861. The Province was inaugurated in 1955 and has a movable bishopric. The countries forming the Province are very different. Zambia and Botswana suffer the difficulties of rapid industrialization, along with underdeveloped, thinly populated areas. In Malawi, 30 per cent of the adult males are away as migrant laborers in other countries at any given time. Zimbabwe is experiencing problems of social adjustment after independence.

Primate(s)

The Most Rev. Albert Chama

Facts

Countries

Botswana, Malawi, Zambia, and Zimbabwe

Number of Dioceses - 15

Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.



episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships

For more information about Global Partnerships contact: Jenny Grant, Officer for Global Relations and Networking at jgrant@episcopalchurch.org