

The Anglican Church OF AUSTRALIA

Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to The Anglican Church of Australia.

More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

Short History

- The Church came to Australia in 1788 with the 'First Fleet', which was made up primarily of convicts and military personnel. Free settlers soon followed.
- A General Synod held in 1872 formed the Australian Board of Missions; missionary work among the aborigines and the Torres Strait Islanders was key to the growth of the Church.
- The Church became fully autonomous in 1962 and in 1978 published its first prayer book.
- A second Anglican prayer book was published in 1966.
- The Anglican Church of Australia is part of the Christian Conference of Asia and of the Council of the Church of East Asia.
- Links with Churches of New Guinea, Melanesia and Polynesia are strong especially through the Australian Board of Mission.

Primate(s)

• The Most Rev. Geoffrey Smith

Website: anglican.org.au

Countries

• Australia

Number of Dioceses - 23

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church.

For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships



and Networking at jgrant@episcopalchurch.org