The Anglican Church IN AOTEAROA, NEW ZEALAND, AND POLYNESIA

Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to The Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand, and Polynesia.

More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

Short History

- The name of the Church in Maori is, 'Th Hahi Mikinare ki Aotearoa ki Niu Tireni, ki Nga Moutere o Te Moana Nui a Kiwa.'
- Established as an autonomous church in 1857, it includes the countries of New Zealand, Fiji, Tonga, Samoa, and the Cook Islands.
- A revised constitution adopted in 1992 reflects
 a commitment to bicultural development that
 allowed freedom and responsibility to implement worship
 and mission in accordance with the culture and social
 conditions of the Maori, Pakeha, and Polynesian membership.

Primate(s)

- The Most Rev. Philip Richardson
- The Most Rev. Don Tamihere
- The Most Rev. Fereimi Cama

Website: anglican.org.nz

Countries

- New Zealand
- Fiji
- Tonga
- Samoa
- Cook Islands

Number of Dioceses - 14

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church.

For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships

