The Office of Public Affairs

The Public Affairs Office provides statistics, biographies, photos, background information, and other resources to media representatives reporting on the mission and ministries of The Episcopal Church

Volunteers needed to continue work of the Episcopal Church

May 6, 2009

The work of the General Convention of The Episcopal Church doesn’t stop after the July event, and volunteers are needed to continue the church’s mission and ministry.

General Convention 2009 (GC09) will be held July 8 – 17 at the Anaheim Convention Center in California (Episcopal Diocese of Los Angeles).

The Episcopal Church’s General Convention, held every three years, is the bicameral governing body of the church. General Convention, the second largest legislative body in the world, is comprised of the House of Bishops, with upwards of 200 members, and the House of Deputies, with clergy and lay representatives from the 110 dioceses, at over 700 members.

The committees, commissions, agencies and boards (CCABs) of The Episcopal Church act on the work as determined during GC09. Volunteers are needed to serve on the CCABs, which offer an array of topics and interests, such as: anti-racism, archives, audit, communications, economic justice, education and formation, stewardship, theology, status on women, social responsibility in investments, ministry development, pastoral concerns, health, HIV/AIDS, national and international concerns.

Appointments to the CCABs will be made following GC09 by Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori, and Bonnie Anderson, President of the House of Deputies. Jefferts Schori will appoint bishops while Anderson will appoint clergy and laity.

For more information on the General Convention and to see a full list of CCABs, visit the General Convention web site .

To volunteer or to nominate someone for a CCAB, complete and submit the form available online at to the General Convention office. Deadline is July 20.

For more information or if you have questions, contact Kevin Lee Romero at 212-716-6044 or

The Episcopal Church, with 110 dioceses in 15 nations, is a member province of the Worldwide Anglican Communion.

Nancy Cox Davidge
Public Affairs Officer