The Office of Public Affairs

The Public Affairs Office provides statistics, biographies, photos, background information, and other resources to media representatives reporting on the mission and ministries of The Episcopal Church

Salt Lake City selected as site of 2015 Episcopal Church General Convention

March 10, 2011

Note: The following is another in an ongoing series discussing the governance of the Episcopal Church. This information contains Episcopal Church lingo and terms; check the websites listed at the end for full explanations.

Salt Lake City, UT, has been selected as the site for the 2015 General Convention of the Episcopal Church.

The selection was announced after the Episcopal Church Executive Council advised and consented to the choice at its February meeting in Fort Worth TX (Diocese of Fort Worth).

The General Convention Office is holding space for a 10 day convention in July.

The Episcopal Church’s General Convention, held every three years, is the bicameral governing body of the church. General Convention, the second largest legislative body in the world, is comprised of the House of Bishops, with upwards of 200 members, and the House of Deputies, with clergy and lay representatives from its dioceses and regional areas, at over 700 members.

The decision to select Salt Lake City, in the Episcopal Diocese of Utah, was reached following discussions, site visits, and consents among various Episcopal Church officials and committees.

According to the Rev. Canon Dr. Gregory Straub, Executive Officer and Secretary of the General Convention, “The decision is made by the Joint Standing Commission on Planning and Arrangements, subject to the advice and consent of the majority of the following: Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori, President of the House of Deputies Bonnie Anderson, Vice President of the House of Bishops Dean Wolfe, Bishop of Kansas, the Presidents of the nine provinces of the Church, and Executive Council.”

The next General Convention will be held July 2012 in Indianapolis, IN (Episcopal Diocese of Indianapolis). The previous General Convention, held in July 2009, took place in Anaheim, CA (Episcopal Diocese of Los Angeles).

The Episcopal Church welcomes all who worship Jesus Christ in 109 dioceses and three regional areas in 16 nations. The Episcopal Church is a member province of the worldwide Anglican Communion.

Episcopal Church General Convention:

The Journal of the 76th General Convention (2009):

The Episcopal Church:




Tagged in:

Nancy Cox Davidge
Public Affairs Officer