The Office of Public Affairs

The Public Affairs Office provides statistics, biographies, photos, background information, and other resources to media representatives reporting on the mission and ministries of The Episcopal Church

Nominations accepted for lay member on Executive Council

April 13, 2016

Nominations to serve as a lay member on the Episcopal Church Executive Council are now being accepted through May 1.

The Rev. Canon Michael Barlowe, Executive Secretary of General Convention, announced that the vacancy was created by the resignation of Executive Council member Joseph Ferrell of the Diocese of North Carolina whose term concludes at General Convention 2018.

Barlowe noted that since the vacancy was created by a lay person, nominations must be from the lay order.  He explained, “In accordance with the Rules of Order, the Executive Committee of Executive Council will review all suggestions, and will nominate at least two and no more than five candidates. The election by the entire Executive Council will take place at our June meeting.”

Barlowe noted candidates should be willing to attend upcoming Executive Council meetings: October 20-22; February 6-8, 2017; June 9-11, 2017; October 18-21, 2017; January 22-24, 2018; April 21-23, 2018.

Nominations should be sent to Barlowe at by May 1 with a 150 word biography and digital photograph.

As noted on the website: The Executive Council of the Episcopal Church is an elected body representing the whole Church. In the course of the three years between conventions, known as the "triennium", the Executive Council will customarily meet once in each of the nine provinces of the Episcopal Church.

The Executive Council has the duty to carry out programs and policies adopted by General Convention. It is the job of Executive Council to oversee the ministry and mission of the Church. The Executive Council is comprised of twenty members elected by General Convention (four bishops, four priests or deacons and twelve laypersons) and eighteen members elected by provincial synods.



Tagged in: Executive Council

Nancy Cox Davidge
Public Affairs Officer