The Office of Public Affairs

The Public Affairs Office provides statistics, biographies, photos, background information, and other resources to media representatives reporting on the mission and ministries of The Episcopal Church

Members announced for Official Youth Presence at Episcopal Church General Convention

April 11, 2012
The Public Affairs Office

Bronwyn Clark Skov, Episcopal Church Officer for Youth Ministries, has announced the 18 Episcopal youth  - two from each Province - who will participate as the Episcopal Youth Presence at the 77th General Convention, scheduled for Indianapolis, Indiana July 5 to July 12.

“The General Convention Official Youth Presence was established by an initial resolution in 1982,” Skov explained. “The Official Youth Presence members have seat and voice on the floor of the House of Deputies during the legislative sessions and that is an exciting prospect for the youth of our church.”

The following youth will be serving as the 2012 Official Youth Presence at General Convention.

Province I

David Karpf, Diocese of Connecticut

Sarah Neumann, Diocese of Massachusetts

Province II

Elisabeth Engle, Diocese of Western New York

Grace Steele, Diocese of Long Island

Province III

David Kilp, Diocese of Central Pennsylvania

Isabelle Lock, Diocese of Maryland

Province IV

Benjamin Cowgill, Diocese of North Carolina

Nora Vinas, Diocese of Southeast Florida

Province V

William Burton-Edwards, Diocese of Indianapolis

Julia Robinson, Diocese of Ohio

Province VI

Emma Grundhauser, Diocese of Minnesota

Cole Mayer, Diocese of South Dakota

Province VII

Laurent De Prins, Diocese of Western Louisiana

Maria Taylor, Diocese of Arkansas

Province VIII

Ariana Gonzalez-Bonillas, Diocese of Arizona

Patrick Melendez, Diocese of California

Province IX

Darling Daniel Ortiz Chemountd, Diocese of the Dominican Republic

Marlene Rodriguez, Diocese of Puerto Rico

Adult mentors and chaperones for the Official Youth Presence are: the Rev. Randy Callender (Diocese of Central Pennsylvania); Cookie Cantwell (Diocese of East Carolina), the Rev. Earl Gibson (Diocese of Los Angeles), Jane Gober (Diocese of Rio Grande), the Rev. Francisco Morales (Diocese of Puerto Rico) and Jay Phillippi (Diocese of Western New York. The Rev. Shannon Kelly (Diocese of Southern Ohio) is the Chaplain for the group.  

For more information contact Skov at 646-242-1421 or


Connect on the EpiscoYouthBlog

EpiscoYouth Facebook Page

EpiscoYouth Twitter Feed #EpiscoYouth

Tagged in:

Nancy Cox Davidge
Public Affairs Officer