The Office of Public Affairs

The Public Affairs Office provides statistics, biographies, photos, background information, and other resources to media representatives reporting on the mission and ministries of The Episcopal Church
December 13, 2017

The Executive Council of the Episcopal Church will meet January 22-24 at the Conference Center at the Maritime Institute in Linthicum Heights, MD   (Diocese of Maryland). Media representatives wishing to attend the meeting must secure credentials. Contact Neva Rae Fox, Public Affairs Officer, at

A media conference with access for media not able to attend is planned for noontime on Wednesday, January 24, the last day of the Executive Council meeting; exact Eastern time to be announced. Among those scheduled to participate are Presiding Bishop Michael Curry, President of the House of Deputies the Rev. Gay Clark Jennings, and the Rev. Canon Michael Barlowe, Executive Officer of the General Convention. Pre-registration for media is required; contact Fox at

Executive Council

According to the website here: There shall be an Executive Council of the General Convention whose duty it shall be to oversee the execution of the program and policies adopted by the General Convention. The Executive Council shall have oversight of the work done by the Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society in its capacity as its Board of Directors. The Council shall have oversight responsibility for the disposition of the funds and other property of the Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society in accordance with the provisions of this Canon and the resolutions, orders, and budgets adopted or approved by the General Convention. The Executive Council shall also have oversight responsibility for the work of the Office of General Convention and the Executive Officer of General Convention who shall report directly to the Executive Council... The Executive Council shall be composed (a) of 20 members elected by the General Convention, of whom four shall be Bishops, four shall be Presbyters or Deacons, and 12 shall be Lay Persons who are confirmed adult communicants in good standing (two Bishops, two Presbyters or Deacons, and six Lay Persons to be elected by each subsequent regular meeting of the General Convention); (b) of 18 members elected by the Provincial Synods; (c) of the following ex officiis members: the Presiding Bishop and the President of the House of Deputies; and (d) the Chief Operating Officer, the Secretary, the Treasurer of the General Convention, the Chief Financial Officer of the Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society, and the Chief Legal Officer of the Executive Council, all of whom shall have seat and voice but no vote. Each Province shall be entitled to be represented by one Bishop or Presbyter or Deacon canonically resident in a Diocese which is a constituent member of the Province and one Lay Person who is a confirmed adult communicant in good standing of a Diocese which is a constituent member of the Province, and the terms of the representatives of each Province shall be so rotated that two persons shall not be simultaneously elected for equal terms.


Tagged in:

Nancy Cox Davidge
Public Affairs Officer