The Office of Public Affairs

The Public Affairs Office provides statistics, biographies, photos, background information, and other resources to media representatives reporting on the mission and ministries of The Episcopal Church

Episcopal Church, provincial delegates named for 2016 United Nations meeting

October 28, 2015
The Public Affairs Office

Continuing its tradition of a strong presence at the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women (UNCSW), The Episcopal Church will be represented at UNCSW’s 60th Session March 14-24, 2016, by 20 Episcopal delegates and one Episcopal provincial representative to the Anglican Communion delegation, all named by Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori.

The delegates will attend the official UNCSW proceedings at the United Nations and represent The Episcopal Church’s positions on the UNCSW Priority Theme, “Women’s empowerment and the link to sustainable development” and the Review Theme, “The elimination and prevention of all forms of violence against women and girls.” Information is available here 

Additionally, the delegates will communicate their own experiences and share what they have learned with their communities upon their return.

Presiding Bishop Jefferts Schori has named the churchwide delegates to represent The Episcopal Church at the event.  The UNCSW delegation is: Jennifer M. Allen, Diocese of Kansas; Victoria Rose Bell, Diocese of Michigan; Kristina (Nina) Boe, Diocese of Olympia; the Rev. Adrian Dannhauser, Diocese of New York; Amanda Gaona, Diocese of San Joaquin; Judith Lane Gregory, Diocese of Delaware; the Rev. Deborah M. Jackson, Diocese of Florida; Cynthia Katsarelis, Diocese of Colorado; Zoraida Maldonado, Diocese of Puerto Rico; Erin Morey, Diocese of Pittsburgh; Gillian Payne, Diocese of Fond du Lac; Lucy Rinzler-Day, Diocese of New York; the Rev. Connie Sanchez, Diocese of Honduras; Sarah Watkins, Diocese of Texas; the Rev. Valerie Webster, Diocese of Montana, Diane M. Wright, Diocese of Virginia.

Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society staff named to the delegation are: Jayce Hafner, Domestic Policy Analyst; Lynnaia Main, Global Relations Officer; Sam McDonald, Deputy Chief Operating Officer and Director of Mission; and the Rev. Glenda McQueen, Latin American and Caribbean Officer.

The Presiding Bishop also has named Julia Ayala Harris of the Diocese of Oklahoma to serve as the provincial delegate to represent The Episcopal Church to the Anglican Communion delegation.

“The expertise, leadership qualities and diversity of the delegates chosen by our Presiding Bishop will insure that The Episcopal Church will be well-represented at the UNCSW meeting in March,” commented Main.  “We look forward to focusing as a team on the issues that will be presented to us.”

For more information about UNCSW, contact Main.

Nancy Cox Davidge
Public Affairs Officer