The Office of Public Affairs

The Public Affairs Office provides statistics, biographies, photos, background information, and other resources to media representatives reporting on the mission and ministries of The Episcopal Church

Episcopal Church General Convention 2012 daily preachers, celebrants announced

June 27, 2012
The Public Affairs Office

Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori has announced the celebrants and preachers for the daily Eucharists at the upcoming Episcopal Church General Convention.

The 77th Episcopal Church General Convention will be held July 5 through July 12 at the Indiana Convention Center in Indianapolis, IN.  

Eucharist will be celebrated everyday day at 9:30 am Eastern, except the final day (July 12) when it will be celebrated at 11:30 am Eastern. Each day, Eucharist and the sermons will center on an important figure from Holy Women Holy Men, a listing of saints who are commemorated in the calendar of the Episcopal Church.

July 5: The celebrant will be Presiding Bishop Jefferts Schori. Concelebrants will be Evangelical Lutheran Church of America Presiding Bishop Mark Hanson and the Rev. Dr. Betsy Miller, President of the Provincial Elders’ Conference of Moravian Church Northern Province. Preacher will be Presiding Bishop Jefferts Schori.  On that day, 20th Century prophets Walter Rauschenbusch, Washington Gladden and Jacob Riis will be commemorated.  

July 6: The celebrant will be Bishop Dean Wolfe of Kansas, vice-president of the House of Bishops. Preacher will be House of Deputies President Bonnie Anderson.  On that day, John Hus, a 13th century reformer and prophetic witness and martyr, will be commemorated. 

July 7: The celebrant will be Bishop Catherine Waynick of the Diocese of Indianapolis, the host diocese of GC12.  Preacher will be Bishop Michael Curry of North Carolina. Commemorated on day will be Harriet Beecher-Stowe, humanitarian and author.

July 8: The celebrant and preacher will be Presiding Bishop Jefferts Schori.  Concelebrating will be the Diocese of Haiti Bishop Zache Duracin and Bishop Suffragan Ogé Beauvoir. This will be the UTO Ingathering, a highlight of General Convention. Among those in procession for the Eucharist will be Primates, Provincial Secretaries, and other leaders from throughout the Anglican Communion.

July 9: The celebrant will be Bishop David Bailey of Navajoland.  Preacher will be the Rev. Dr. Mary Crist.  Commemorated on that day will be Samson Occum, the first ordained Native American minister.

July 10: Celebrant will be Bishop Lloyd Allen of Honduras.  Preacher will be the Rev. Alberto Cutie of the Diocese of Southeast Florida.  Commemorated on that day will be Bartolome de las Casas, Spanish priest and missionary to the Indies.

July 11: Celebrant will be Bishop Mark Sisk of New York.  Preacher will be the Rev. Stephanie Spellers of the Diocese of Massachusetts and a chaplain for the House of Bishops.  Commemorated on that day will be Benedict of Nursia, the 6th century monastic and abbot.

July 12: Celebrant and preacher will be Presiding Bishop Jefferts Schori.  Commemorated on that day will be Nathan Soderblom, Swedish Church archbishop and advancer of ecumenical work.


General Convention worship services will be featured live on the Media Hub at


The Episcopal Church’s General Convention is held every three years, and is the bicameral governing body of the Church. It is composed of the House of Bishops, with upwards of 200 active and retired bishops and the House of Deputies, with clergy and lay representatives elected from the 110 dioceses of the Church, at more than 800 members.

For complete information on the General Convention 2012, check the website:



The Episcopal Church:

General Convention:


Diocese of Honduras

Diocese of Indianapolis   

Diocese of Kansas

Diocese of Massachusetts

Diocese of New York

Diocese of North Carolina

Diocese of Navajoland

Diocese of Southeast Florida



Evangelical Lutheran Church in American (ELCA)

The Moravian Church in North America







Tagged in:

Nancy Cox Davidge
Public Affairs Officer