The Office of Public Affairs

The Public Affairs Office provides statistics, biographies, photos, background information, and other resources to media representatives reporting on the mission and ministries of The Episcopal Church

Deadline nears for nominations for election at Episcopal Church General Convention 2012

February 1, 2011

The Governance of the Episcopal Church: This information is another in an ongoing series discussing the governance of The Episcopal Church.

The February 22 deadline nears for nominations for membership on seven bodies or positions to be elected at the Episcopal Church General Convention 2012.

The nominations are being accepted by the Joint Standing Committee on Nominations (JSCN).

Warren Wong, JSCN chair, noted, “We encourage early applications so the committee can give serious consideration to all applicants.”

Bishops, priests, deacons and lay persons may be nominated to the various bodies or positions. The nominees are not required to be current or former General Convention deputies.

“This is wonderful opportunity for lay and clergy leaders to have an important role in our church governance,” Wong pointed out.

The elections will be held at General Convention 2012, July 5 â€" 12, in Indianapolis, IN (Diocese of Indianapolis).

Deadline for nominations is February 22, 2011.


Committees, number of open seats, and length of terms are:

Disciplinary Board for Bishops: two lay persons and two priests or deacons elected by House of Deputies; 10 bishops elected by House of Bishops at its meetings; each six year term.

Executive Council: six lay persons, two priests or deacons, two bishops; each for a six year term

General Board of Examining Chaplains: three lay persons, three faculty members of theological seminaries or other educational institutions, three priests or deacons with pastoral cures or specialized ministries, two bishops; each for a six year term. (House of Bishops elects; House of Deputies confirms the bishops’ election)

Secretary of the House of Deputies: one position; three year term

Treasurer of the General Convention: one position; three year term

Trustees of the Church Pension Fund: twelve positions; each for six year terms

Trustee of General Theological Seminary: two lay persons and two priests or deacons, elected by House of Deputies; two bishops elected by House of Bishops; each for a three year term

For the specific service criteria of each office as well as meeting commitments, visit:

Nomination forms

The nomination forms are available in English, French, Spanish and Mandarin. The nominating forms are available at:

On the form, nominees are asked for a lay and clerical reference, for church experiences, a short narrative on skills, and if the nominee has had anti-racism training. A photo is required when the nomination is submitted.

Following the deadline

Following the February 22 deadline, JSCN will conduct a rigorous review and vetting process. JSCN will submit the slate of candidates in July 2011.

Nominees can also be accepted from the floor of General Convention for all positions except for the Trustees of the Church Pension Fund.

JSCN membership

The JSCN members and their dioceses are:

Warren Wong, chair, California; Bishop Russell Jacobus, vice-chair, Fond du Lac; Sherry Denton, secretary, Western Kansas; the Rev. Joan Anders, New Jersey; Cynthia Bartol, Virginia; Pamela Chapman, Western Michigan; the Rev. Thack Dyson, Central Gulf Coast; Bishop Edward Little, Northern Indiana; Alfred Price, Western New York; the Rev. Canon Austin K. Rios, Western North Carolina. Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori and President of the House of Deputies Bonnie Anderson are both ex officio members.

Nomination form:

General Convention 2012:



The Episcopal Church:





Tagged in:

Nancy Cox Davidge
Public Affairs Officer