The Office of Public Affairs

The Public Affairs Office provides statistics, biographies, photos, background information, and other resources to media representatives reporting on the mission and ministries of The Episcopal Church

Deadline extended for Episcopal Church’s 2020-2021 academic year scholarships

Applications due May 29, 2020
April 14, 2020

The deadline has been extended for educational scholarships from The Episcopal Church for the 2020-2021 academic year. A scholarship applicant must be an Episcopalian and must have the endorsement of his/her bishop.

The scholarships are derived from annual income of designated trust funds established by generous donors through bequests to The Episcopal Church.  The scholarships assist:

  • Students enrolled in theological education and training.
  • Children of missionaries, bishops and clergy,
  • Students of various racial and ethnic minorities, and other groups covering a wide range of eligibility. 

Lists of trust funds and scholarships and other important information can be found here.  Applicants are strongly encouraged to read the provided information about each trust carefully and identify in the application those trust funds that best fit their profile.

The application form is available in English and Spanish here.

All applications must be submitted online. The new deadline for submitting an application is May 29. Only complete applications will be considered.

Applications are reviewed by a scholarship committee composed of representatives from The Episcopal Church Executive Council, the church-at-large, the Treasurer’s Office and various other ministries of The Episcopal Church.

For information, contact Ann Hercules, associate for Ministries Beyond The Episcopal Church and Grants.

Please note the following for dioceses of The Episcopal Church: Applicant understands that should its local diocese fail to pay its assessment in full or to apply for and receive a waiver, the diocese and the applicant shall be ineligible to receive grants or loans from the Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society unless approved by Executive Council. 

Nancy Cox Davidge
Public Affairs Officer