The Office of Public Affairs

The Public Affairs Office provides statistics, biographies, photos, background information, and other resources to media representatives reporting on the mission and ministries of The Episcopal Church

Church Planting and Missional Initiative grant applications now available

April 1, 2016

Applications are now open for the 2016 grant cycle for new church starts and Mission Enterprise Zones in The Episcopal Church.

Resolution D005 and Resolution A012 approved by General Convention in July 2015 authorized new and continued funding for church plants and Mission Enterprise Zones throughout the Episcopal Church. Additionally, newly created grants will be awarded to dioceses and already-established ministries exploring possibilities for new initiatives or expansion.

Application, guidelines and information are available here.  

Applications will be reviewed and evaluated upon receipt. The applications will be reviewed by the General Convention Advisory Group on Church Planting.

The funding also calls for the creation of a community of practice for equipping the church with resources for assessment, coaching, networking, and the sharing of best practices.  

More information about the church planting initiative is here   

For information contact


In addition, the General Convention Advisory Group on Church Planting is conducting a design contest for a new logo to depict church planting for The Episcopal Church.

A $500 cash prize will be awarded to the most inspiring title and logo for a renewed church planting movement across the church.

Submission instructions and image specifics are located here.  Deadline is May 1.

For information contact 


Members of the General Convention Advisory Group and their dioceses are:

The Rev. Jane Gerdsen, chairperson, Southern Ohio; the Rev. Valerie Bailey Fischer, Newark; Erendira Jimenez-Pike, Kentucky; the Rev. Michael Michie, Dallas; the Rev. Alex Montes Vela, Texas; the Rev. Katie Nakamura Rengers, Alabama; the Rev. Zachary Nyein, East Tennessee; the Rev. David Perkins, Lexington; the Rev. Canon Jesus Reyes, El Camino Real; Bishop George Sumner, Jr., Dallas; the Rev. Canon Janet Waggoner, Fort Worth. The Rev. Canon Frank Logue of Georgia and the Rev. Canon Tanya Wallace of Western Massachusetts are Liaisons from Executive Council.  Presiding Bishop Michael Curry and President of the House of Deputies the Rev. Gay Clark Jennings are Ex Officio members.  The Rev. Canon Stephanie Spellers is staff advisor. The Rev. Tom Brackett is the staff liaison. 

Nancy Cox Davidge
Public Affairs Officer