The Office of Public Affairs

The Public Affairs Office provides statistics, biographies, photos, background information, and other resources to media representatives reporting on the mission and ministries of The Episcopal Church

Advancing to General Convention 2015: The Blue Book will be available online

February 5, 2015
The Public Affairs Office

The Report to the 78th General Convention, commonly referred to as The Blue Book, will be available online at the Episcopal Church General Convention website here
Reports will be added to the General Convention website as they are received, the Rev. Canon Michael Barlowe, General Convention Executive Officer, said. Currently posted are reports from The Taskforce for Reimagining The Episcopal Church (TREC), the Task Force on the Study of Marriage, and the Standing Commission on Communications and Information Technology. Additional reports will be posted weekly, as they are translated and edited for publication.

The Episcopal Church’s 78th General Convention, June 25 – July 3, will be held at the Salt Palace Convention Center in Salt Lake City, UT (Diocese of Utah).
For the first time, all reports for the Blue Book will be offered only online rather than in print.  “The 78th General Convention will be a convention of screens,” Barlowe explained.  “The Blue Book will not be printed as it has been in years past.”

He added that the documents can be downloaded as desired, and that Church Publishing may make a print copy available for purchase.

  The Blue Book contains reports of the committees, commissions, agencies and boards of the General Convention. The information is available in English and in Spanish.
For questions about The Blue Book, contact Twila Rios, staff assistant for content management and digital publishing in the General Convention Office.
The Episcopal Church’s General Convention is held every three years, and is the bicameral governing body of the Church. It comprises the House of Bishops, with upwards of 200 active and retired bishops, and the House of Deputies, with clergy and lay deputies elected from the 109 dioceses and three regional areas of the Church, at more than 800 members.





Nancy Cox Davidge
Public Affairs Officer