November 15 Racism Forum to Feature Formation Materials

May 15, 2013
By: 
Lifelong Formation

I want to encourage you to “Save the Date” for the upcoming ecumenical web forum, Fifty Years Later: The State of Racism in America, announced yesterday on Episcopal News Service. The Forum will be held Friday, November 15 at 1 pm Central  (2 pm Eastern, noon Mountain, 11 am Pacific, 10 am Alaska, 9 am Hawaii).

Anti-Racism Forum

The forum will be moderated by journalist and PBS commentator Ray Suarez. Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori will keynote the event. Two panel discussions will focus on main themes: racism in America today – why does it persist?  And racism in America’s future – where is there hope for change?

The forum is ideal for live group watching and discussion, or on-demand viewing later. Viewers will be able to submit questions to the participants during the live webcast. It will be appropriate for Sunday School, discussions groups, and community gatherings.

Resources such as bibliography, on-demand video, materials for community and individual review, discussion questions, and lesson plans will be available as downloadable pdfs.