Anglican Church of Southern Africa

The Province is the oldest in Africa. British Anglicans met for worship in Cape Town after 1806, with the first Bishop appointed in 1847. The twenty-three dioceses of the Province extend beyond the Republic of South Africa and include the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (St. Helena and Tristan da Cunha), Mozambique (Lebombo and Niassa), the Republic of Namibia, the Kingdom of Lesotho, the Kingdom of Swaziland and Angola.


November 20, 2002

Speaking at an interfaith peace summit, South African Deputy President Jacob Zuma has invited Africa's religious leaders to play a 'key role' in monitoring efforts by political leaders seeking to bring peace to the strife-torn continent.

The mid-October summit brought together leaders...

January 16, 2002

The Religious Coalition for Reproductive Choice has announced the February 16 launch of a church-based HIV/AIDS initiative in South Africa in conjunction with local churches and Jewish groups. Anglican Archbishop Njongonkulu Ndungane, primate of the Church in the Province of Southern Africa,...