An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church

A - Z Glossary

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | V | W | Y | Z

El Camino Real, Diocese of

The 1979 General Convention voted to divide the Diocese of California and create a new diocese called El Camino Real. The primary convention of the Diocese of El Camino Real was held at St. Paul's Church, Salinas, on June 20-21, 1980. It includes the following counties: Monterrey, San Benito, San Luis Obispo, Santa Clara (except St. Mark's Church, Palo Alto, and Christ Church, Los Altos), and Santa Cruz. On June 18, 1989, Trinity Church, San Jose, became Trinity Cathedral.

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from "An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians," Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.