An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church

A - Z Glossary

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | V | W | Y | Z

Anglican Executive Officer

At the 1958 Lambeth Conference, the Committee on Missionary Appeal and Strategy recommended that a full-time secretary of the Advisory Council on Missionary Strategy be appointed by the Archbishop of Canterbury with the approval of the Advisory Council. This officer was to collect and disseminate information, and to keep open lines of communication within the Anglican Communion. This official became known as the Anglican Executive Officer. The Rt. Rev. Stephen F. Bayne, Jr., the resigned Bishop of Olympia, USA, was the first officer. He served from Jan. 1, 1960 until Oct. 31, 1964. He was succeeded by the Rt. Rev. Ralph S. Dean, who served from Nov. 1, 1964 until Apr. 30, 1969. While he was officer, Dean took a leave of absence from his position as Bishop of Cariboo, British Columbia, Canada. The last officer was the Rt. Rev. John William Alexander Howe, resigned Bishop of St. Andrews, Dunkeld and Dunblane, Scottish Episcopal Church. He served from May 1, 1969, until Dec. 31, 1982. The Anglican Executive Officer ceased to exist when the Anglican Consultative Council was created. A secretary general of the council was created at that time. See Anglican Consultative Council.

Glossary definitions provided courtesy of Church Publishing Incorporated, New York, NY,(All Rights reserved) from "An Episcopal Dictionary of the Church, A User Friendly Reference for Episcopalians," Don S. Armentrout and Robert Boak Slocum, editors.