Three receive honorary doctorates at Virginia Theological Seminary

October 9, 2009

Virginia Theological Seminary, during its annual Academic Convocation on October 6, awarded the Doctor in Divinity, honoris causa, degree to the Rev. Donald Henry Kortright Davis, professor of Theology at the Howard University Divinity School, Bishop Sean Rowe of Northwestern Pennsylvania, and Bishop Eugene Sutton of Maryland.

Davis was ordained a deacon and a priest in the Church in the Province of the West Indies. Davis is a rector at Holy Comforter Church in Washington, D.C. As a scholar and theologian, he has held before the church and the world the challenge of an understanding of ministry grounded in both power and service.

Rowe was consecrated bishop of Northwestern Pennsylvania on September 8, 2007, and the following year was the youngest bishop at the Lambeth Conference. During his time at Virginia Theological Seminary, Rowe was also the youngest member of the student body, and served as proctor and sacristan, president of his junior and middle classes, and, in his senior year, president of the student body.

Sutton was elected the 14th bishop of Maryland in 2008. Sutton received his Bachelor of Arts degree from Hope College in Holland, Michigan, which gave him its Distinguished Alumni Award in 2003. He since served as canon pastor and director of the Center for Prayer and Pilgrimage at the Washington National Cathedral.

Founded in 1823, VTS is the largest of the 11 seminaries affiliated with the Episcopal Church. The school prepares men and women, representing more than 40 different dioceses and nine different countries, for service in the church, both as ordained and lay ministers, and offers a number of professional degree programs and diplomas.