Special honors

Peace and justice, Integrity, stewardship awards presented at convention
June 30, 2006

Advocates and leaders received awards from several Episcopal organizations at events during General Convention.

The Episcopal Peace Fellowship honored the Rev. Canon Naim Ateek, director of the Sabeel Ecumenical Liberation Theology Center in Jerusalem. A strong proponent of faith and nonviolence, Ateek received the Sayre Award, named after the Rev. John Nevin Sayre, founding member of the Fellowship of Reconciliation’s U.S. branch and instrumental in founding EPF.

“Naim is an amazing man, because over all of these years living under occupation, giving hope and encouragement to his own people living under this oppression ... he has always maintained a great sense of levity and good humor,” said the Rev. Canon Brian Grieves, director of peace and justice ministries. Ateek called his award “a wonderful burden” and “an encouragement to keep going, to keep marching on.”

EPF also presented a Sayre Award to Madeleine Trichel, executive director of the Columbus (Ohio) Interfaith Peace Center who teachers a message of nonviolent living in prison settings, with educators and the faith community.

The Witness, a web-based social action publication, honored three people at the reception with EPF. Bishop Steven Charleston, president and dean of Episcopal Divinity School in Cambridge, Mass., received the William Stringfellow Award, given in honor of the late theologian and lawyer. The former bishop of Alaska was acknowledged as a leading proponent for justice issues and spiritual renewal in the church in the United States and Canada.

Veteran convention deputy Marge Christie of the Diocese of Newark received the Vida Scudder Award. She is a past president of the Episcopal Women’s Caucus, past chair of the Committee on the Status of Women and served on the Standing Committee on the Church in Metropolitan Areas when it created Jubilee Ministry.

Grieves received the William Scarlett Award in honor of the labor activist and Episcopal bishop. A previous recipient of EPF’s Sayre Award, he has worked actively in peace processes in the Philippines, Central America, the Middle East and Northern Ireland.

At the Integrity Eucharist, Bishop Gene Robinson of New Hampshire received the Louis Crew Award, given to a person who has made an extraordinary witness of God’s inclusive love to the church and the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community.

The Rev. Michael Hopkins of the Diocese of Rochester received the President’s Award, given for extraordinary service to Integrity. He was on Integrity’s national Board of Directors for seven years, five of them as president.

The Episcopal Network for Stewardship honored retired bishops William Burrill and John MacNaughton. MacNaughton was the first chair of the Standing Commission on Stewardship and Development, which Burrill also chaired.

TENS also had solicited nominations of programs, projects, parishes, committees or individuals exhibiting “best practices” in stewardship education, training, recruitment or communications. Those honored were: St. Timothy’s Episcopal Church and the Rev. Kevin Phillips of Mountain View, Calif.; the Episcopal Church of the Ascension, Seattle; and St. Matthew’s Episcopal Church, Brecksville, Ohio.