Seminary of the Southwest awards 3 honorary degrees

May 20, 2013

[Seminary of the Southwest press release] Seminary of the Southwest held its Sixty-second Commencement on Tuesday, May 14, at 10:00 a.m. at St. Matthew’s Episcopal Church in Austin. The Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of North Carolina, the Rt. Rev. Michael B. Curry, preached at the service of Holy Eucharist.

Thirty-nine diplomas were awarded to graduates including twenty Master of Divinity students from thirteen dioceses across the country; eight Master of Arts in Counseling students; five Master of Arts in Chaplaincy and Pastoral Care; one Master of Arts in Spiritual Formation; and three Master of Arts in Religion students.

Honorary degrees were presented to Dr. Brené Brown, research professor at the University of Houston Graduate College of Social Work; Mrs. Barbara Payne, co-chair of the seminary’s Campaign for Leadership; and the Rt. Rev. Claude E. Payne, seventh Bishop of the Diocese of Texas and co-chair of the seminary’s campaign.

Lutheran Seminary Program in the Southwest (LSPS) presented two graduates of the certificate program of theological education for emerging ministries. LSPS has shared the Austin campus with Seminary of the Southwest for nearly 40 years.

Douglas Travis, dean and president of the seminary preached at Evensong on Monday, May 13, at 6:00 p.m. in Christ Chapel on the seminary campus. In March, Dean Travis announced his retirement to be effective May 31. Cynthia Briggs Kittredge, academic dean and professor of New Testament, has been elected dean and president effective June 1, 2013. Leadership transition announcement.

Seminary of the Southwest alumni serve in all 50 states, 23 countries and six continents around the globe. Southwest has 124 students enrolled in its degrees. The seminary’s mission is to form men and women for the service of Christ in lay or ordained ministry within the church and the larger society.

Related Topics: