New members named for Board of Examining Chaplains

August 6, 2003

The House of Deputies concurred on Wednesday with the House of Bishops' election of members to the General Board of Examining Chaplains. Elected in the order of bishops are the Rt. Rev. Barry R. Howe, West Missouri, and the Rt. Rev. Katharine Jefferts Schori, Nevada, both for six-year terms; and the Rt. Rev. Philip M. Duncan, Central Gulf Coast, for a three-year term. In the order of lay persons for three-year terms are Mary C. Callaway, New York; Josephine R. Giannini, Indianapolis; and Leonard W. Johnson, California. Elected for six-year terms in the order of priest are the Rev. Mark T. Crawford, Texas; the Rev. Mary Catherine M. Sulerud, Washington; and the Rev. Stephen E. Moore, Olympia. Elected to fill three faculty seats for six-year terms are the Rev. Susan M. Dolan-Henderson, Episcopal Seminary of the Southwest; the Rev. Robert D. Hughes, School of Theology at the University of the South, Sewanee; the Rev. Frederick W. Schmidt, Perkins School of Theology. The board has the responsibility for the General Ordination Examinations.