National Altar Guild Association unites art with learning

August 4, 2003

The National Altar Guild Association is one of many Episcopal organizations meeting this week in conjunction with General Convention.

The diverse ministry offered by members of this 86-year-old organization also requires diversity when putting together the meeting. This week delegates have:

  • Heard congregational development consultant Mary MacGregor discuss “Using Art to Enhance Our Ministry.”
  • Listened as the Rev. S. Albert Kennington of Trinity Episcopal Church in Mobile, Ala., talked about “Art in Our Furnishings and Vestments.”
  • Learned the “Art in Carpets of Flowers” from North Carolinian Rosemary Easton, also known as “The Flower Carpet Lady.”
  • Heard a presentation from Karen E. Johnson, an accomplished South Carolina needle artist and teacher, on “The Art of Restoring and Recycling Holy Linens.”
  • Enjoyed praise and inspirational words from the Rt. Rev. A. C. “Chip” Marble, retired bishop of Mississippi during its opening banquet.
  • Agreed to give daily worship offerings to the Indian Burial Assistance Project here in Minneapolis, which will provide funds to American Indian families to help them secure dignified affordable and culturally appropriate burial items and services.

NAGA also is hosting an Ecclesiastical Art Exhibit in room 206 at the Convention Center. Cloth is worked in every conceivable manner to produce stunning banners, vestments, wall hangings and free-standing figures in a creche scene. The theme of the exhibit, “The Use of Art to Enhance Worship,” is carried out in bold colors, on large banners and with simple style. The diversity of the pieces, the materials used and the artists who made them makes this show a must-see for those in Minneapolis. The exhibit, open daily from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. in room 206, closes Tuesday.

New NAGA officers to be installed Tuesday morning at St. Mark's Cathedral include May Sherrod, president; Polly Marshall, first vice president; Georgia Strickland, second vice president; Jane Pomeroy, secretary; Jane Ames, treasurer; and Barbara Gent, nominating committee chair.