

Iglesia Anglicana DE LA REGION CENTRAL DE AMERICA

Introduction

The Anglican Communion consists of 40 autonomous churches, also known as provinces around the world. It encompasses over 165 countries. This is a short introduction to the Iglesia Anglicana de la Region Central de America or The Anglican Church in the Central Region of America. More information about The Anglican Communion and each of the Member Churches can be found at anglicancommunion.org.

Important Information

Short History

The Province, one of the newest in the Anglican Communion, is made up of the dioceses of Guatemala, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama. With the exception of Costa Rica, all had been part of the Episcopal Church of the United States of America. The Church was introduced by the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel when England administered two colonies in Central America, Belize (1783-1982) and Miskitia (1740-1894). In later years Afro-Antillean people brought their Anglican Christianity with them. The Province is multicultural and multiracial and is committed to evangelization, social outreach, and community development.

Primate(s)

The Most Rev. Julio Murray Thompson

Facts

Countries

Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Panama

Number of Dioceses - 5

Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Panama

Closing

These documents were produced by the Global Partnerships Office of The Episcopal Church. For more information please visit episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships.



episcopalchurch.org/globalpartnerships

For more information about Global Partnerships contact: Jenny Grant, Officer for Global Relations and Networking at jgrant@episcopalchurch.org