Experience Holy Week with The Episcopal Church

The Episcopal Church invites all to virtually join the congregation of St. Christopher’s Episcopal Church in Gladwyne, PA for a rebroadcast of their 2018 Holy Week services with the addition of new sermons, beginning with the Maundy Thursday on April 9 through the Great Vigil of Easter on April 11, 2020. 

On Easter Sunday, the Office of Communication live streamed the service at the Washington National Cathedral. Consistent with his call for churches to practice physical distancing at this time, Presiding Bishop Michael Curry, offered his Easter sermon via a video recorded earlier in the week.  Additional offerings include sermons recorded by Bishop Curry for Holy Wednesday, Maundy Thursday, and Good Friday. Please see program offerings below for information on how to access each service or stand-alone sermon.

 

Wednesday, April 8

Gospel of Mark reading from St. Christopher’s Episcopal Church, Gladwyne, PA
7:00pm EDT | 6:00pm CDT | 5:00pm MDT | 4:00pm PDT
Video of Bishop Curry’s Holy Wednesday sermon from The Church of St. Luke in the Fields, New York, New York available here (posted by 12:00pm EDT.)
Facebook Premiere Link or on this page above.

Thursday, April 9 – Maundy Thursday

Maundy Thursday service from St. Christopher’s Episcopal Church, Gladwyne, PA
Preacher: The Rev. Callie Swanlund
7:00pm EDT | 6:00pm CDT | 5:00pm MDT | 4:00pm PDT
Service bulletin.
Facebook Premiere Link or on this page above.

Livestreamed candlelight vigil on Facebook
With clergy receiving prayers in the comments section
8:00pm (Thurs.) - Noon (Fri). EDT | 7:00pm (Thurs.) - 11:00am (Fri.) CDT | 6:00pm (Thurs.) - 10:00am (Fri.) MDT | 5:00pm (Thurs.) - 9:00am (Fri.) PDT
Video of Bishop Curry’s Maundy Thursday sermon from The Church of St. Mary the Virgin, New York, New York available here (posted by 8:00 pm EDT.)
(For information on viewing the Maundy Thursday service in its entirety, please visit The Church of St. Mary the Virgin website. The service begins at 6:00pm EDT.)
The Episcopal Church Facebook page.

Friday, April 10 – Good Friday

Good Friday service from St. Christopher’s Episcopal Church, Gladwyne, PA
Preacher: The Rt. Rev. Daniel Gutiérrez
12:00pm EDT | 11:00am CDT | 10:00am MDT | 9:00am PDT
Video of Bishop Curry’s Good Friday sermon from Church of the Heavenly Rest, New York, New York available here. (posted by 1:00 pm EDT.)
(For information on viewing the Good Friday service in its entirety, please visit the Church of the Heavenly Rest website. The service begins at 12:00pm EDT. The service will be replayed 6:00pm EDT.)
Service Bulletin
Facebook Premiere Link or on this page above.

Saturday, April 11 – Holy Saturday

Holy Saturday service from St. Christopher’s Episcopal Church, Gladwyne, PA
Preacher: The Rev. Dr. Hillary Raining
9:00am EDT | 8:00am CDT | 7:00am MDT | 6:00am PDT
Facebook Premiere Link or on this page above.

Great Vigil of Easter service from St. Christopher’s Episcopal Church, Gladwyne, PA
Preacher: The Rev. Canon Dr. Stephanie Spellers (Recorded in 2018)
7:30pm EDT | 6:30pm CDT | 5:30pm MDT | 4:30pm PDT
Service Bulletin
Facebook Premiere Link or on this page above.

Sunday, April 12 – Easter Sunday

Easter from Washington National Cathedral
Preacher: The Most. Rev. Michael Curry
11:15am EDT | 10:15am CDT | 9:15am MDT | 8:15am PDT
Video of Bishop Curry’s available above.
Virtual choir video availabe above.
Service Bulletin
Presiding Bishop Curry’s Facebook page and The Episcopal Church Facebook page
Youtube Embeddable Link also available here.