The Episcopal Church in Jerusalem & The Middle East

The Most Revd Suheil S. Dawani

The Province includes four dioceses: Cyprus and the Gulf, Jerusalem, Egypt with North Africa and the Horn of Africa, and the Diocese of Iran. The Jerusalem bishopric was founded in 1841 and became an archbishopric in 1957. Reorganization with the support of the Archbishop of Canterbury on the Feast of the Epiphany in 1976 created the Province of Jerusalem and the Middle East as we understand it today. 

Terminology can be somewhat confusing. It is worth noting that the use of the words “Episcopal Church” in the title of this independent province of the Anglican Communion refers to the use of bishops for oversight of the various dioceses throughout the Anglican Communion. This is not a reference to being part of The Episcopal Church, as in The Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society with offices in New York City.

The Episcopal Church continues to be a valued partner in ministry throughout the province. Advocacy, awareness, and financial support are provided through the active engagement of Episcopalians in the Good Friday Offering, the United Thank Offering, and Episcopal Relief and Development.