The Church of Ireland

The Most Reverend Richard Lionel Clarke
Provincial Secretary: 
Mr Denis Reardon, Mrs Janet Maxwell

Tracing its origins to St. Patrick and his companions in the fifth century, the Irish Church has been marked by strong missionary efforts. In 1537, the English king was declared head of the Church, but most Irish Christians maintained loyalty to Rome. The Irish Church Act of 1869 provided that the statutory union between the Churches of England and Ireland be dissolved and that the Church of Ireland should cease to be established by law. A General Synod of the Church, established in 1890 and consisting of Archbishops, Bishops, and representatives of the clergy and laity, has legislative and administrative power.


Church Ave.
Rathmines, DB